Skip to Main Content
Update: This Suggestion Box has been migrated to The Network, Trimble's online user community and is now read-only. Please click the link to add a new idea, vote, or comment.
Categories Workflow
Created by Mercedes Green
Created on Nov 21, 2025

New Ball in Court Workflow Needs No Access Permission Setting

In the new ball in court workflow, the permissions are Unrestricted and Restricted. The Restricted only restricts edits but not visibility.

We have multiple issues where only the author sees a Draft so if that user leaves or is on vacation, no one knows it exists. We need an internal review step before assigning, but then everyone in the project can then see it (we have Submittals and RFIs set to all project).

We have the exact opposite issue with the Change Order Requests because there is no Draft status (not sure why). Every contact from the To Company (which is needed to print a report for internal review) will have access to the COR. Draft status would at least resolve this issue with visibility to the Owner but not the issue if that author leaves.

There needs to be a permission step that is No Access (where only those in the Project Company can see). We have the same issue on Purchase Orders and Contracts where only workaround is to leave it in Draft else all the subcontractors will see those records since the To Company is filled in, but we haven't yet reviewed it internally.

  • Attach files
  • Guest
    Jan 9, 2026

    It would be helpful if multiple people can be named the Workflow manager. I get this is portfolio specific and the idea is for one person to be managing the portfolio but we have more than one portfolio manager but only one can manage the workflow. Perhaps all portfolio managers should be able to act as a workflow manager.

  • Guest
    Dec 3, 2025

    Draft records are only visible to the creator. You have to move to an open status to be visible to others.

    Change orders require a pending change order to be created. The pending change order is the draft.

    Project Settings > Records > RFI > General > Default record sharing access
    Sharing with the 'entire project' provides all users access to these records, regardless of their involvement. Sharing with 'participating companies' grants record access only to those specific companies. Security role permissions will still apply.